Password Protected Directories
See how to set up a secure and user-only area in your site with password-protected directories.
A password-protected directory or area is a folder that may be accessed when a username and a password are typed in, so no unauthorized individuals may see its content. This function could be used for the primary folder of a given website or only for a certain subfolder based on your preferences. As an example, when you are building a new site and you don't want people to see it before it is 100% ready, you need to prohibit the access to it completely, whereas if you need only some individuals to be able to access particular files, you may password-protect only a certain folder, while the remainder of the website can be seen by anybody. Regardless, a “403 Forbidden” error page will appear if the login details the visitor inputs aren't correct. Even a direct link to a file won't work if any folder above it is password-protected.
Password Protected Directories in Shared Web Hosting
All of our shared web hosting include a very useful tool which will enable you to protect any folder within your account from unauthorized access with only 2 clicks. As soon as you log in to your Hepsia hosting CP, you will simply have to visit the Password Protection section, to select the main domain or subdomain, to specify the folder which should be secured - the root folder or some folder under it, and then to input the username and the password which must be used to access the content in question. The function will be active immediately, so in case you make an effort to open the folder/website, you will be prompted to input the login details. You can create or remove many usernames for the very same folder, when necessary. When you check out the File Manager section, all password-protected folders shall be marked with a compact padlock icon.